RSS Feed

You Can Do It!

Posted on

My lady friends and I are running a half marathon this weekend in Annapolis. This will be my third half and hopefully there will be many more to come. I am truly anxious, nervous, excited and many more emotions for this race. My last race was the ING in Atlanta over a year ago. I actually lived in the ATL for three years! Anyway, I did the ING there and had an awesome race. I wanted to finish in under 2 hours and with the help of the crowd and having positive thoughts, I finished in…get ready for it… 1 hour 51 minutes!!  I was floored. With that being said, I really would love to reach my goal for the Zooma run in Annapolis of running under 1 hour 51 min. This isn’t necessarily a realistic goal for a number of reasons. Annapolis will be a different course from the ATL ING, obviously (more hills is my biggest concern). The weather can also play a major part in races. The ING was in March, where the weather was brisk. The Zooma is in the beginning of June and so far it has been pretty warm.

No matter what, I am going to put my best foot forward. I know I can do anything I put my mind to, and so what if I don’t finish the race in or around 1 hr 51 min? Nothing terrible is going to happen to me! I am going to push on with positive self-talk and work hard for my goal. I have to remember that I am glad I’m healthy and able to run 13.1 miles! That is a blessing in itself. I am dedicated to running and I know whatever happens at the Zooma race will be great!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

