RSS Feed

experimenting

Posted on

I enjoy trying different vegan recipes for a number of reasons. Baking is so precise. Unlike cooking, measurements must be exact. If not, your baked good might not rise, rise too much, taste like a cinder block, or look like a pile of mud. That’s how these little diddys looked, but I can honestly say they were delightful. When baking vegan treats you must find ingredients to replace egg, butter, milk, that the recipe usually calls for. I feel like a chemist in the kitchen experimenting with different ingredients. It’s quite fun. I am not vegan and don’t know if I ever will be, but I love baking vegan treats. I love to tell people there are no eggs, butter, milk, etc. in this recipe and hear their “Ohhhs and Ahhhs.” Followed by “Really????”

I adapted the recipe from Jenna’s blog. If you haven’t read her blog yet, it should be next on your to-do list.  I changed up the ingredients a bit because of what I had on hand, or lack of certain ingredients she used.

Recipe: * indicated changes made

adapted from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan
Ingredients:

1 cup spelt flour  *organic AP flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup cocoa

1/4 cup maple syrup  *agave nectar

1/4 cup canola oil  *applesauce increased to 1/2 c

2 T peanut butter *increased to 3 T

1/4 cup roasted peanuts

1/4 cup chocolate chips

*added 1 T coconut oil

I accidentally mixed all ingredients together in the same bowl. I was very focused at this moment. I didn’t do the wet and dry ingredients separately,oops!

I baked at 350F and dropped tablespoon size cookies onto a cookie sheet. I got 18 out of the batch. They were sooooo moist and almost tasted like brownies. These are a must try vegan treat!!!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

