RSS Feed

summer = grilling

Posted on

What could be better than being outside smelling roasted veggies, turkey burgers, grilled fish and other grilled goodness? There’s not anything else that comes to mind at the moment! Grillin’ is FA-BO-LO-US as the rapper says it.  I even like to man handle the grill. The heck with Joe flippin’ the burgers, I am quite capable of doing the dirty work. 

This grilled chicken I made last week is über simple and looks so fresh:

How it went down..

  1. First, coat the chicken with homemade pesto – I’ll chat about that in a hot min
  2. Grill up the pesto coated chicken
  3. Once the chicken is cooked on both sides, chop up fresh basil from your garden or grocery store. Throw on top.
  4. Sprinkle pine nuts on top as a crunch garnish
  5. ENJOY!

Let’s talk about the pesto. I don’t have exact measurements for the pesto because it’s one of those throw in the food processor and taste-test kinda things. I have an ancient mini food processor and I fill it up with basil leaves. Next, I put into the mix a few tablespoons of parmesan cheese. Following this, I do the same for the pine nuts (optional). Finally, I give a healthy whirl of olive oil around the concoction and blend away! If the pesto is lacking anything, taste test and add to your liking. SIMPLE as that! Homemade pesto has a brilliant green color and is much tastier than store-bought.

 Look for more grilling goodness to come!

Enjoy the sunshine today and remember, be thankful for something in your life.

 

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

