RSS Feed

give me s’more of those…

Posted on

When I feel stressed, baking is something I really look forward to. I feel I have to be really concentrated on baking because as I said previously, the measurements usually have to be right on. When I dedicate myself to baking something, my mind is taken off the current stressful situation, and is placed upon baking a delish dessert. Is this the cure for stress? Of course not, but it is a nice detour.

I am a bit stressed because things are going to be a little unpredictable for me in the next few weeks/months. I am finished with my long-term substitute position as an elementary education teacher, applied to go back to school yet again (waiting to hear), and am planning a wedding. Joe is super supportive of all my decisions and I am thankful for that, but still it is really stressful to be unsure of what is going to happen next. I have that type A personality where I like for everything to be planned out. Well, this situation is definitely going against my comfort level. Oh me, oh my..I guess I need to keep my faith and remember we aren’t placed into situations we cannot handle. I will get through this! Off to baking I go…

Give me S’more

These vegan cupcakes are the most moist (ew to that word) little gems I have tried in all of my vegan baking shenanigans. Here is what’s is in them:

Makes 12 cupcakes

S’mores Cupcakes

Adapted from: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World 

3/4 c brown sugar

1/2 c canola oil 

2 T molasses

1/4 c soy yogurt

1 1/4 c soy milk  *used almond milk

1 t vanilla extract

1 c AP flour

1 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t ground cinnamon

1/4 t salt

1/2 c graham cracker crumbs

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Get your muffin pans ready with liners.
  2. Mix the brown sugar, oil, molasses, yogurt, milk and vanilla in a large bowl
  3. Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in separate bowl. Add graham cracker crumbs
  4. Add dry ingredients to wet in a few batches – 3 or so
  5. Fill UP cupcake liners and bake for 22 to 25 min.
  6. Let cool on wire rack
  7. INDULGE!

The icing didn’t turn out as I would have liked it to, so I will have to get back to ya on that recipe.

Enjoy your day, work hard, and remember stay positive. Good things are to come. At least I hope so! 🙂

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

