RSS Feed

Strength

Posted on

love.my.family.

So, my family has been going through some rough times in the last month. The woman with the dark hair pictured above is my Aunt Cheryl. She is one of my dad’s sisters; he has two. I know this blog is supposed to portray a positive light on my life, but if that was always the case, I would be lying in saying nothing negative ever happens to me. We all know that’s NOT true.

Here’s a brief synopsis of what is going on…

My Aunt Cheryl was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer about two weeks ago. She started chemo and unfortunately had a severe allergic reaction. After things calmed down with the first round, the docs attempted a second round (scary, I know). Things went better the second time, but the dosage was decreased significantly. She will go through a number of rounds of chemo and we will take things from there.

My family is AMAZING. Simply put. I know most people feel that way, but I mean it with all my heart. My aunts, uncles, cousins and I try to see each other once a week (those who live close). We have dinner together, drinks together, lots of laughs together and much, much more. We hug and kiss and never say good-bye without “I love you.” 

Aunt Cheryl has been there for all of us through thick n’ thin. She has listened to many of my “oh so tragic stories” and reminded me, “People make mistakes. That’s why there are erasers on top of pencils.” My Aunt Cheryl is the glue that has kept us all together. She has been there for me and now it is time for me to be there for her. I am leaving for NJ today to visit her for the weekend (she is receiving treatment in NYC). I know we all want our loved ones to live forever, but Aunt Cheryl has so much left to live for. Her two grandchildren, ages 2 and 4, must have the opportunity to grow up with the “babbling brook” in their lives.

*the babbling brook = Aunt Cheryl would gently touch your face and calmly whisper angelic words into your ears about  a soothing and peaceful stream*

This unfortunate situation reminds me to never take things for granted. If you are having a crappy day, remember things could be a lot worse. I am so thankful for my health and everything I am capable of doing to stay healthy. It’s amazing how things in your life can change dramatically in the blink of an eye. Cherish every minute you have and DON’T SWEAT THE SMALL STUFF. I know it’s easier said than done, but boy I have to live by that motto. I am going to focus my energy on today and only today.

With all that being said, please keep her in your thoughts and prayers.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: let’s do it tonight « be filled up

  2. Pingback: The China Study « be filled up

  3. Pingback: Garden Growth « be filled up

  4. Pingback: got crabs? « be filled up

  5. Pingback: Fun in the Sun « be filled up

  6. Pingback: visit to NJ « be filled up

  7. Pingback: To you Aunt Cheryl… « be filled up

  8. Pingback: Make your own cleaning products « be filled up

Leave a Reply

