RSS Feed

going green

Posted on

Good morning to you and happy Tuesday! I am bouncing off the walls with just a few hours of sleep so bear with me! First off, I whipped up a smoothie at 5:30 AM. Inside the blender:

handful of spinach – woohoo for the green!

1 c almond milk

3/4 scoop protein powder

1 heaping T of almond butter

1 banana frozen

2 ice cubes

I’m sure many of you know about these green smoothies, but if you don’t for some reason, you are missing out. I love the fact that I can include vegetables in my breakfast, even more so, in a drink. You can’t even taste the spinach. Now that is impressive.

Talking about green, I have dedicated myself these past two weeks to always taking my reusable bags to the grocery store. I will admit, I haven’t been all that great with this in the past, I know, shame on me. You have to start somewhere, so the month of June is my starting point. No turning back now! Do you use reusable bags at the store? If so, congrats to you! Continue doin’ what you do!

Once more piece of green-ish talk…

Lately I have been feeling a little like this about my chicken, veggies, veggie/turkey burgers lately…

*Yes, I really just posted that wretched picture of me for the world to see…

So, I have come to the conclusion you need this green additive to your life. I created this yesterday with hopes of using up an extra avocado I had in the refrigerator.

In the mix:
1/2 avocado
1 heaping T of organic plain yogurt
small handful of spinach
1 T olive oil
1 garlic clove
salt/pepper to taste
squeeze of lemon (optional)
*Place in food processor, give a whirl until all ingredients are fully blended and then EAT UP BUTTERCUP! Put on top of your veggie burgers, chicken, spread on your sandwich for lunch. The sky is the limit!
 
Since I am going full speed ahead right now, I have decided to run. Although sometimes it is difficult for me to get up and workout in the morning, I truly feel better when I do. I just need that little bit of motivation to get me there. Joe always works out in the morning because of his work schedule, so he is my motivation this morning. As he was lacing up his sneaks, I was wiping the cob webs out of my eyes and beginning to follow his lead. Just remember, you start your day off on the right foot by exercising in the AM. Next time, I am going to set my running clothes out the night before to be even MORE motivated. I will be back with my morning run stats for you soon!
 
Take a deep breath and smile! At least it’s not Monday. Off I go…
P.S. no make-up, remember you are beautiful without it!
About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

2 responses »

  1. Ruth Rapposelli

    Lesley, You are so darn cute!! I am impressed with your attitude. Recently I had a delicous sandwich. It was multigrain bread with a layer of hummus followed by zuchini,onion and pepper roast on the grill. After eating I felt satisfied but not sluggish. Best wishes for a happy life filled with abundant health and love, Ruth Rapposelli

    Reply
    • Aww thanks Ruth! I appreciate your comment. I love hummus and those veggies sound delish! Have a great day and again thanks for the warm wishes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

