RSS Feed

how to deal…

Posted on

This AM’s breakfast: egg white omelet with goat cheese and fresh basil (tucked inside, sorry you can’t see it) with a side of fruit.  The omelet was awesome. That is a must try mix.

Let’s talk about how to deal with days when exercising feels like you just jabbed your eyes out. It is amazing when you workout and feel like a million bucks. There is a euphoria that surrounds you after a good workout, whether it is a fast run, a grueling spin class, an intense yoga class, a strong walk, or a powerful swim. The feeling it leaves you with is difficult to describe. Now, on the contrary, when you experience a workout where you don’t feel like a million bucks, sadness sets in. I have friends who always tell me, “Lesley, running is so hard.” I always answer them back with, “I know.”

Unfortunately friends, working out is not easy. There are no ifs, ands, or buts about it. I find it interesting when one day I can run five miles at a decent pace and feel like an all-star and the next day barely finish three without taking a walking break. How does this happen? I have taken into consideration some of the factors that might have an effect on you and your workout ability for that day. I also have come up with some ways to cope with these feelings because believe me; they aren’t easy to deal with.

Why you might be sluggish during your workout:

  • Lack of sleep
  • Stressed from work, life, etc.
  • Dehydrated
  • Not properly fueled with enough nutrients
  • Mentally/emotionally just not there

How to react when you have a sluggish workout:

  • Think back to your intake for that day and ask, “Did I get enough water and nutrients today?”
  • Believe in yourself, you are capable of doing anything – Don’t say “I’m so bad at this.” That will affect your outcome!
  • Remember it is better to be out there doing some type of exercise, even if it means you must take breaks.
  • Ask yourself, “Does it really matter if I didn’t give 100% today in my workout?” Nothing terrible is going to happen to you if you weren’t completely energized for your workout. Remember there is always tomorrow.
  • Give yourself a motivational pep talk before you start working out. “I can do this, I am thankful for a strong body, I love that I have a body that is able to work out.”
  • Set a goal for yourself. If you are trying to run a certain pace or work up to “no walking breaks” don’t do it immediately. Ease into this goal.
  • Finally, keep in mind that every day isn’t going to be an amazing workout day. Don’t get down on yourself. You will get to where you want to be soon. I know it.
  • Last but not least, you have to experience the bad times to be able to know what the good times feel like. If you had a bad run/swim/bike, and it is soon followed by a good workout, you will appreciate what it feels like to be successful.

I am not certified in physical training, but I have been dedicated to running for about six years now. These are my own personal opinions. If you don’t believe them, that’s fine. I just thought I would share with you how I have dealt with difficult exercise situations.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

2 responses »

  1. I have goat cheese in the fridge and basil on my deck. Going to try this omelet! Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

