RSS Feed

leftovers and lettuce wraps

Posted on

Good morning to all my friends out there! Last night turned into quite an extravaganza for my family. Joe and I decided to take off work and hang with my family. I don’t think we realized what kind of drinking can ensue when a loved one is sick, but oh it did! Everyone has been stressed and under a lot of pressure these last few days with my aunt being sick. So, having a few cocktails to relax was completely acceptable. Aunt Cheryl, I know you think alcohol is poison, but last night it was needed. We will all be refreshed and ready to go today. No worries. On to the food situation. I wanted to share this with you a few days ago, and didn’t get the chance to. I have this love/hate relationship with leftovers. Some days I love them, other days, not so much. I decided you need to do something different with your left overs, not just eat them the same way they were the night before. If you aren’t sure what to do with your leftovers? Throw them on top of your salad!

I made this side dish of Green Split peas with tomatoes, red peps, cucumbers, goat cheese and balsamic glaze. I had leftovers so I just threw it on top of a bed of spinach for din-din one day this past week.

The chicken salad lettuce wraps pictured above were delicious!

In the mix:

1 package organic chicken tenderloin

1 heaping T organic greek yogurt

1/4 to 1/2 c mayo

2 dates finely chopped *great additive if you don’t have cranberries/raisins on hand

1/4 c chopped onion

1/4 c walnuts

salt, pep to taste

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

