RSS Feed

variety

Posted on

I really believe that in order to not get burned out on exercise, to see results, and to feel good, you must do a variety of workouts. I used to do just straight running and after about a year of it, I was sick of running. Big time.

In order to give variety to my workouts, I will do something like this for the week: day 1 run three miles, work on arms; day 2 interval training; day 3 run five miles work on legs; day 4 yoga; day 5 treadmill workout. Now my weeks might look a little different from this, but you get the gist of where I am going with it. I also might take a rest day on day 3 (I love Wednesdays as rest days, as well as Sundays). Do what works for you!

The reason I believe in variety, is because I think you need variety in all aspects of your life. When you hear people who go on diets and they eat grilled chicken, brown rice, and broccoli for dinner every night, they end up despising these three foods. “Chicken is so boring.” Well, of course it is boring, you have been eating it the same way for the last month.

I also think people do the same thing every day when it comes to things in their life because it provides comfort. Who doesn’t like to know what is going to happen next? Well, when it comes to working out, please give yourself a variety of exercise options throughout the week. I think you will truly stick with exercising consistently and you won’t be burned out by the same workouts day after day. I am not a licensed physical trainer, so these are my opinions. Having a variety of workouts to choose from has helped me, but I am only one person. We all know what is beneficial for our bodies, so do what works for you.

Now with that being said, plan out your exercise week! Check out the excel spreadsheet I put together. This is a nice way to look at your workouts and see where there is room for improvement, where you didn’t feel so hot on a run/walk/exercise, and how to hold yourself accountable for working out. If I have my exercise plan down on paper or in the computer, I feel I am more willing to do those workouts because I already planned for them. Try it!

 workout 6.27

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

One response »

  1. Pingback: oh happy hump day « be filled up

Leave a Reply

