RSS Feed

basil infused lentils with mozzarella cheese

Posted on

Last night’s dinner was pretty tasty! I will share what all went into it and you should definitely get on the lentil, basil olive oil, and mozzarella side dish for your dinner tonight. It was very simple and very tasty!

The plate is filled with many different things: corn, salad, falafel and a lentil side dish. I love grilled corn so much more than when it is boiled! I threw some left over grilled asparagus on top of the salad. There are two mini falafel cakes that I didn’t make, but these encouraged me to try to make them again. When I say again, I made falafel before and it just didn’t turn out right. The consistency of it didn’t allow for the cakes to be browned correctly. They just fell apart. The falafel that is pictured came from a package we actually bought at Sam’s Club and the ingredient list was short and sweet. There were no words I couldn’t pronounce and I enjoyed the flavor of them. Still, I would like to try round two of falafel making.

Lastly, the lentil side dish. How I made it:

Ingredient:

  • fresh basil
  • 1/4 c lentils
  • mozzarella cheese
  • olive oil

Directions:

  1. Boil the lentils and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes. Rinse when done and set aside.
  2. In a small food processor, blend together basil and olive oil. Create a basil infused olive oil. Don’t over blend. You should still be able to see bits of basil in the mix.
  3. Pour olive oil over lentils.
  4. Add chopped up cubes of mozzarella cheese.
  5. ENJOY!

Now get cooking folks! I’m off to workout with a friend of mine at her apartment complex gym. Then, its dress fitting time. Oh.so.excited.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

