RSS Feed

french toast, yogurt, berry compote

Posted on

This morning I convinced myself to get out of bed and run! I have a busy day today, working at the bakery, visiting two school buddies from the elementary school where I was working last year, and then working at the restaurant tonight. Tomorrow is my bachelorette party! The Finger Lakes, here we come! I can’t wait… Also, I tried on my dress and had it fitted last night. I wish I could show you pictures; I am in love with the whole ensemble: the shoes, the dress and vintage bird-cage headpiece! AH!

On to my run. Here are my stats:

And breakfast…I decided to be different and spruce things up a bit. I made raisin bread French toast with a blackberry and blueberry compote with a nice dollop of Chobani yogurt.

Breakfast really rocked my socks off this morning. It was well deserved after my morning hot and sticky run. Better yet, it was very easy to make!

Ingredients:

1 piece of whole grain raisin toast

2 T almond milk

1 egg white

Dash of cinnamon

¼ c yogurt

Blueberries and blackberries

1 T agave

1 T water

Directions:

  1. In a bowl mix together egg white, almond milk and cinnamon. Dredge toast through mixture and brown on either side in hot skillet.
  2. In another sauce pan place blueberries, blackberries, agave and water together. Bring to a boil and let at this temperature for two minutes. Then reduce heat and let simmer until berries are tender and juice has been created.
  3. Plate toast, add yogurt on top, spread compote (berry mixture) over toast and yogurt.
  4. ENJOY!
About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

