RSS Feed

be filled up

Posted on

Joe and I have been eating less and less meat and more fish, grains, (for me) beans, etc.  I feel like I need a hearty component to my dinner or else I won’t be filled up. I have a hearty, healthy appetite and enjoy good food. With that being said, I can’t just eat veggies and salad for dinner like Joe can. I look for the more filling things to supplement my dinner plate. How do you feel about the “faux” meat out there? I don’t eat it too much because usually I am  bit scared of it. It looks weird, has a lot of ingredients in it, and is just plain out weird. Well, I picked up this at the store and have to speak highly of it:

The soyrizo tasted exactly like taco meat you would put on top of nachos or stuffed into a flour or corn tortilla. The list of ingredients wasn’t overwhelming, but I must say, with my first glance at the packaging, I was a bit skeptical. It’s just a long encased sausage looking tube. I also wasn’t sure what to do with it and unsure of the taste, so I just grilled half of it and put it next to a salad and veggies. Next time, I will definitely use this for a Mexican style dinner!

What I need to do is research “faux” meat recipes. Do you have any?

In other words of being filled up, Joe and I went to our Catholic marriage classes two weekends ago. There was a guest speaker at the seminar that talked about “The Five Love Languages.” This woman was incredible. “The Five Love Languages” is not only a book about understanding how you feel filled up from love, but also helps you to understand yourself better as far as love is concerned. The five love languages are:

  1. words of affirmation – do you need to hear “you are beautiful?”
  2. quality time – do you need to spend as much time with your significant other as possible?
  3. receiving gifts – do you need to receive thoughtful “gifts,” doesn’t have to be material things?
  4. acts of service – do you need for your significant other to help you with chores?
  5. physical touch – do you need that closeness to your loved one?
About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

4 responses »

  1. Lesley,

    I just read your entire blog! I LOVE it and I want to adopt you. This is truly a wonderful thing you are doing.

    Fondly,
    Dawn

    Reply
  2. I have that book, I was told about it last summer! I heard it was a great read and very eye opening. I started to read it but havent finished it…surprise there! haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

