RSS Feed

Time for a change…

Posted on

I have been eating the living daylights out of french toast these past few weeks. It is time for a change. With summer almost coming to an end, oatmeal is ready to make its grand apperance.I love oatmeal but have no desire to eat it when it’s hazy, hot and humid outside. Plus, I would probably start sweating. This was breakfast this AM…

I love, love, love to make oatmeal with just the oats and water as the container says and then pour all my goodness on top. I added almond milk, (don’t mix in, let it just saturate the oats), 1 T brown sugar, and a handful of chopped pecans. A-mazing! Just what I needed on a Monday morning.

Speaking of changing things, I have a big secret to admit to you all. For all of you who know me well, this you already know, but for those who don’t, here it is. I have a major sweet tooth. I wake up thinking of sweets and go to bed thinking of sweets. I skimp out on dinner to have dessert, without thinking twice. As I am eating dinner, I am thinking, “What sweet treat is for tonight?” It’s bad, guys. Real bad. The worst part about it, I don’t eat healthy desserts. I dive into chocolate, peanut butter, cookies, ice cream, etc.  I just hate the feeling that I need something sweet every day. I don’t think you need anything every day.  So here’s my plan, I would like to start doing healthy sweets and only eat them every other day. You have to start small, that’s for sure.

Here’s my treat for the week:

Frozen Strawberry Yogurt Cupcakes. Joe’s mom, Rose, gave me a kids’ cookbook. I am not sure where she was going with that one…but it has good recipes in it. The book, RED LIGHT, GREEN LIGHT, EAT RIGHT has some great tips, recipes, and ideas for kids, well even adults!

Adapted from RED LIGHT, GREEN LIGHT, EAT RIGHT:

1/2 c chobani vanilla yogurt

1 T agave

1/2 c unsweetened applesauce

5 oz frozen strawberries chopped

  1. Mix all ingredients together in bowl
  2. Pour into cupcake liners
  3. Freeze for 2 hours
  4. Serve!

Do you need to make any changes in your life at the moment? Do you think about it, but have no idea how to start? If so, remember, every choice you make affects your life. Choose right and you will reap the benefits. I

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

