RSS Feed

Acorn squash.browned cinnamon apples.

Posted on

Good morning! I didn’t blog yesterday because to be honest, I didn’t feel like it. The photographer sent us pictures and a video of our wedding day and visit with my Aunt Cheryl. I must have watched the video over and over and over again. I couldn’t stop. Each time I listened to the song that accompanied the video, which said things are in God’s time, I remembered my faith and where it has brought me today. Have faith

Yesterday I peered into the fridge and realized I needed to do something with this acorn squash. I followed the directions on sticker, which was slapped onto it: Cut in half, place in water in baking dish, bake for 30 minutes at 350F. After I did this, I thought…now what? You can use brown sugar, cinnamon and butter, but that’s just very typical.

This was a twist on the recipe…APPLES!

Ingredients:

  • 1 acorn squash
  • 2 medium honey crisp apples (others will work)
  • 2 Tbsp half and half
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar

Directions:

*Preheat oven 350F

  1. Cut acorn squash in half, remove seeds from inside 
  2. Place in baking dish with enough water to cover the bottom of squash, bake 30 minutes
  3. While baking, place 2 Tbsp butter in saute pan
  4. Chop apples, skin on and place in hot butter
  5. Add brown sugar and cinnamon
  6. Cook 5 to 7 minutes or until tender
  7. When squash is done and cooled, peel skin off and discard.
  8. Place squash in bowl, add half and half and mash with fork or potato masher.
  9. Combine apple mixture from saute pan with squash, mix together well.
  10. ENJOY!

This recipe could be a great idea for a side dish at Thanksgiving. What do you say? Also, Wednesday was Joe and his twin brother’s birthday Vince. Happy belated boys!

Family:

Brothers:

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

