RSS Feed

cranberry corn bran muffins

Posted on

I adapted this recipe a whole lot and these little babies still turned out delish. I love corn muffins, corn bread, corn everything. When I taught in Atlanta and the school had fried chicken and corn bread, I would weasel my way to the front of the lunch line, throw 2 quarters down on the counter, and search for the largest possible piece there was on the lunch tray.  Those were the days.

Today, I worked in the morning at the bakery and had the afternoon off. What else would you do on your day off besides bake? Well, I also edited some wedding pictures. I am really into editing pictures at the moment. I am in love with my Canon EOS Rebel T3. The pictures come out incredible (when I know what I am doing) and the editing on these pictures is awesome as well. I want to take a photography class real bad. Anyone in the Reading area have a suggestion for where to take photography classes? Anyway, on to the recipe…

Cranberry Corn Bran Muffins (12 count)

Adapted: Live Longer Cookbook

Prep Time: 15 minutes (at most)

Bake Time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

  • cooking spray
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup cornmeal
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

  1. Spray 12 muffin cup pan with spray
  2. In medium bowl, mix together almond milk, oil and oat bran (maybe a few clumps of coconut in mix)
  3. In large bowl, mix flour, cornmeal, baking powder, salt and sugar together.
  4. Add medium bowl mixture to large bowl mixture. Don’t over mix.
  5. In 3rd bowl, with hand-held mixer, beat egg whites until stiff.
  6. With spatula, fold egg whites into batter.
  7. Stir cranberries into mixture gently. 
  8. Fill muffin cups with batter to top.
  9. Bake 400F or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.
  10. Let cool before removing from pan.
  11. ENJOY!

*Cut in half and spread butter on top. Yum Yum.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

