RSS Feed

Broccoli Rabe

Posted on

I made broccoli rabe two nights ago for dinner along with cauliflower feta cheese cakes. The cauliflower cakes, delicious, the broccoli rabe, bitter. I know I have had broccoli rabe before and liked it, remembering there to be a slightly bitter taste, but nothing like what I tasted from making it on my own. I need help! What is the key to making broccoli rabe? I even went off Giada’s recipe from the Food Network!

I cut the stems of the broccoli rabe and boiled it for 2 to 3 minutes. I placed it in a bath of ice-cold water. Next, I sauted it in olive oil and minced garlic for 7 minutes or so, adding salt and pepper. The broccoli was very bitter and the only thing that helped was sprinkled sun-dried tomatoes and nuts.

Cauliflower Cakes inspired from Joe’s Grandma

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower chopped and boiled until softened
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese (used sun-dried tomato and basil)
  • 1/4 cup flour – more if needed
  • 1 egg white for binding
  • onion, garlic powder to taste

Directions:

  1. Mash cauliflower in large bowl with hand-held potato masher.
  2. Add rest of ingredients and mix well.
  3. If mixture is too sticky, slowly add more flour.
  4. Heat olive oil in pan on medium high heat (make sure it is hot!)
  5. Make 1/4 cup sized patties and gently place in pan.
  6. Let patties brown before flipping (up to 5 minutes on each side)
  7. Serve with favorite side dish – probably not broccoli rabe!
  8. ENJOY!
About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Spinach pesto « be filled up

Leave a Reply

