RSS Feed

Winter Workout Blues

Posted on

Well, I haven’t been talking about exercise much because winter time is really hard on my workout routine.  I like the gym for the weights and variety of machines that I can do there. I don’t like the treadmill aka dreadmill. I swear I can hardly run 1 mile on the treadmill without feeling exhausted. I KNOW I can run a lot further than that outside. It is a mental thing. I watch the minutes tick by on the treadmill in agony waiting for a mile marker to be over. It’s sad. I like exercising and don’t want to feel this way. I have a few workouts that will get me through the winter blues:

  1. Split Ups – Run 3 total miles on the treadmill but split them up. Do 1 mile at slower pace, hop off, 3 sets of arm weights, jump back on for a medium speed 2nd mile. Hop off and do 3 other sets of arms. Finally, 3rd mile at a fast pace, hop off do last 3 sets of arms and abs with stretching. I realize a lot of people will do their cardio straight through for a solid 30 or 40 minutes. Not only is that torture for me, but my heart beat is continuously raised when going back and forth between cardio and weights.
  2. Game Running – Running like it’s a game. What does that mean? Well, I honestly pretend that while I am on the treadmill someone is telling me what to do. I will give myself commands like sprint, slow down, jog, speed up, hills, etc at any moment (don’t watch the clock). I will do this for the entire time I am on the treadmill and it honestly makes the time go much, much faster. Now the trick is, saying the sprint word more than once while being on the treadmill. I like to make it a “finger-rule.” I need to sprint 5 times on one hand and jog 5 times on the other hand. I think that seems pretty fair.
  3. Minute Running – Running while changing your pace every minute. I must be the girl on the treadmill where everyone hears “beep, beep, beep.” That’s because I am making the treadmill go slower, faster, higher or lower every minute I am on there. It sounds crazy, but it helps my mind. It really does. I will start off at a slow jog, and every minute I will raise the speed 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 etc. When I get to 7.2, I will come back down every minute and then will do the same with the incline. The time goes very quickly on the treadmill and before I know it I have ran a number of continuous miles.

So, what is your technique for switching over to the gym during the winter months? Or do you run outside through all seasons? I definitely will be out in the cold if the temperature is around 50 and it’s sunny. I will also run in the cold if I have a race, but on a normal basis I am more of a gym go-er in the winter time.

Exercise Tip of The Day –

Speed Skater

Speed Skater
source
 
*In lunge position, hop back and forth on one foot, touching opposite hand to opposite foot. Do 20 times and repeat 3 times.
 
About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Increase your speed and distance « be filled up

  2. Pingback: Corn & Black Bean Burgers « be filled up

Leave a Reply

