RSS Feed

Garden Spot Half

Posted on

Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and are ready to start a new year! Speaking of a new year and new goals, what do you have in mind for a New Year’s Resolution? I don’t necessarily have a resolution, but a goal I would like for 2012 is to run more races! Why not? Speaking of running in the cold months of December, January, February and even March,  in order to keep your running spirits alive during the winter time, what do you need to do? Sign up for a RACE today! Not just any ol’ race, but another half marathon. This will be my 4th half marathon, and through the last 3 I have learned a lot. The Annapolis “Zooma” half that I did with my girlfriends was quite an experience. Read here for an update. I know one thing and that is to ENJOY this half marathon. I don’t know if I enjoyed the Zooma half because I placed all this pressure on myself to finish in or around 1 hour 50 minutes. I did meet my goal, but I felt like I was going to vomit by the end of the race from pushing myself so hard. Not Fun. No way.

I would like to finish this run in under 2 hours. 1 hour 59 minutes will even suit me. I think that goal is reasonable. My first half was 2 hours 9 minutes. My second half was 1 hour 52 minutes and my third half was 1 hour 51 minutes 32 seconds. What I need to remind myself is, what’s so bad about not finishing in a certain time? What is really going to happen? NOTHING! I am definitely not the first place winner and so why make finishing a race in a certain time so important? In my eyes, a hobby of any kind should be enjoyable and when you aren’t having fun it no longer is a hobby.

Well, mark my words on December 26, 2011, I am going to have a good time running my fourth half marathon on March 31, 2012! No matter what time I finish this run in, I am going to be proud of myself for running. I will also be thankful that I am capable of running that distance. That, in and of itself, is something to be proud of!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Increase your speed and distance « be filled up

  2. Pingback: Hot Bikram Yoga « be filled up

  3. Pingback: Running Partner = Perfection « be filled up

  4. Pingback: Garden Spot Village Half Marathon « be filled up

Leave a Reply

