RSS Feed

Hot Bikram Yoga

Posted on

Hot Yoga In West Reading

Hot Yoga is quite an intense experience if you haven’t ever done it before.  My girlfriends and I joined in January for a month unlimited for $40! I even joined the mailing list and received an extra $5 off.  The yoga studio reaches temperatures in or around 100 degrees with humidity. Bikram yoga follows the same poses each class so you are able to focus upon your breath, your body and your mind. At first, you might not be able to do that because you are focusing upon the heat and getting the poses down.

The first day we did the class, I must admit, I was totally overwhelmed. I got anxiety through a lot of it, thinking, I can’t breath! I would do some of the moves and become even more short of breath. Luckily, the yoga instructor would say these moves open up certain parts of your body causing your heart to race and can cause anxiety. She reminded those practicing to come back to your breath and to remember the feeling is temporary.

This is my shirt after hot yoga. There was not one ounce of the shirt that was dry. Not one. The shirt went from a light pink to a dark pink in a matter of a few minutes. The sweat pours down into your eyes and an extra towel is necessary so you can actually see what you are doing.  The feeling is unlike anything I have ever done before. It is a totally different feeling than a half marathon. Totally. So…

Have you practiced Bikram yoga? Do you like it better than regular yoga?

Buddha Quotes on Hanging Wall Scrolls

                                                   source

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

