RSS Feed

Long Runs

Posted on

Running Stats from 2/23/12:

Time: 53 minutes 26 seconds

Distance: 6.14 miles

Feeling: Pretty Darn Good!

I consider anything over 5 miles a long run. I think if you are on your feet for more than 45 minutes, it is a long run. I’m sure others feel differently on what is or isn’t a long run, but my body goes into a different mode after 45 minutes or so of straight running. Now, how do you prep yourself for a long run? I eat something quite substantial before a long run. I like to have both carbs and protein and I make sure I am taking in a good 300 to 400 calorie breakfast if I am doing a long run in the morning. I might have an egg sandwich and a half a banana, or yogurt/cereal with fruit, granola/nuts and almond butter. If I do a long run in the afternoon, I might have an apple with a 1/4 cup of nuts or nuts and cheese with crackers. These are all pretty balanced snacks where both carbs and protein are present. I have to be honest though about the run itself, I don’t carry water with me and don’t usually have any snacks on me (Gu Chomps). Is this smart, well probably not but I usually don’t feel like I need it. I tend to come home and rejuvenate myself!   How do you attack long runs? Do you carry fuel with you or wait until you get home like me? Do you fuel well before the run??

                   Here’s a great rejuvenating post-run snack! The way to feeling fuller longer, add almond butter or peanut    butter to your cereal! Try it, it’s delicious!

Try Trader Joe’s Valencia Peanut Butter with Flax Seeds

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: french toast sticks w a twist « be filled up

  2. Pingback: Garden Spot Village Half Marathon « be filled up

Leave a Reply

