RSS Feed

french toast sticks w a twist

Posted on

I was on a french toast kick a few months back. I feel like you can do so many combinations with the recipe and I love that, just as I do with many other things in my life: veggie burgers, stuffed mushrooms, casseroles, heck even workouts! I think of french toast sticks and think of being little and having my mom take me to Burger King where we once in a great while indulged on the crispy, greasy sticks. They were good or at least they were good years ago! These sticks I made this AM are crispy but not greasy and that’s what I love about them. I think they would be perfect for kids, too. Actually, I seem to love them and I wouldn’t consider myself a kid, maybe a big kid!

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices bread, cut into 4 strips
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • dash of vanilla and cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup crushed cereal of choice – used Barbara’s Puffins

Directions:

  1. Cut bread into 4 strips (on width side).
  2. Whisk together egg, milk, vanilla and cinnamon.
  3. Crush cereal of choice in separate bowl.
  4. Dip bread in egg mixture, dredge through cereal on both sides and lay on coated baking sheet.
  5. Bake 350F for 12 minutes or until crispy.
  6. ENJOY with agave or syrup!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

5 responses »

  1. These sounds so yummy. Crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I think my teenage boys would love these. Take Care, BAM

    Reply
  2. I love this! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Donna

    Reply
  3. The kids are gonna love these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

