RSS Feed

almond crusted fruit tart

Posted on

I made a dessert this weekend with nearly NO added sugar. I couldn’t believe how tasted it turned out and I love that Joe could indulge in it. I love desserts and many of times when I make them, poor Joe can’t enjoy the deliciousness. This time, I had him in mind!

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (or agave)
  • 5 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp water

Topping

  • 1 – 6 ounce container Greek yogurt (I used blueberry)
  • 4 ounces cream cheese
  • 2 Tbsp mascarpone cheese
  • strawberries, blueberries or fruit of choice

Directions:

  1. In food processor, place almonds, flour, brown sugar and butter together. Pulse until coarse meal begins.
  2. Add 1 tablespoon at a time of water to form sticky dough.
  3. Grease 8 inch circular cake pan.
  4. Press dough into pan and bake 350F for 10 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool.
  5. In bowl, with hand-held mixer, combine yogurt and cheeses.
  6. Spread over cooled almond crust and top with strawberries and blueberries or fruit of choice.
  7. ENJOY!!!

*I’m not sure the brown sugar was even needed in the recipe but when I was looking at almond crusts many of them called for over 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup sugar. I almond eliminated the sugar completely and I think it would have been fine. This isn’t a dessert that is overly sweet because there is little added sugar to it. If you are expecting a sweet tart I would definitely add sugar to the crust and yogurt/cheese topping.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

4 responses »

  1. Oh Lesley, this looks so yummy! And its so pretty too 🙂

    Reply
  2. This is gorgeous! It is perfect for an outdoorsy brunch:]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

