RSS Feed

Running Partner = Perfection

Posted on

Some people, like me, love running partners. Others enjoy going solo. I definitely love having a partner to run alongside. I also love meeting girls at the gym to work out. We don’t do much chatting to be honest, it is strictly working out! What is so great about having a partner is the accountability. If you know you are meeting a gal/partner at the gym or for a run date you are more likely to do the workout. Let’s face it, after a long day at work sometimes your butt wants to go home and be a couch potato. When I know I am meeting someone at the gym or at the park to run, I look forward to my workout more. Yes, I did just say that!

The great part about workout partners is you can have a number of them! I enjoy meeting my friend Tiffani at the gym, enjoy running outside or doing the college workout with my friend Maisie, and like going to bootcamp classes with Timeri. Maisie and I have been doing our long runs together while I train for the half marathon at the end of this month. This is the first time she has done a run over 6 miles. She and I did 8 miles last weekend…She did FABULOUS!

  • Distance: 8.72 miles
  • Time: 1 hour 18 minutes
  • Average Pace: 8’59”
  • Feeling: Good (tired around mile 7)

Tomorrow Maisie and I are doing 10 miles! She is nervous because again, this will be the longest run she has ever done but I’m telling you, having a partner is the way to go. I know she will be fine! I hope she realizes when running you have to start somewhere. Running is a difficult sport and I swear, there aren’t many out there who were born to run. Easing into long distances is the best way to go. Believe in yourself, you can do A LOT more than you think you can!

So what do you enjoy as far as a workout goes? Do you enjoy doing your workout or run with someone else or riding solo?  What is the farthest distance you have ever run? Half marathon, full marathon?

 

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

5 responses »

  1. Hello Lesley, 1/2 marathon is the furthest I have ever gone. I used to love running and getting the runners high but now with age the old knees can not take it anymore. So have to mix up the cardio. I also prefer running or working out with a partner as keeps your mind off the pain and helps you make it to the end. Keep it up! BAM

    Reply
    • Yes! I like mixing things up as well. Running one day, doing circuit training another, spin class, etc. I am afraid of my knees going that way in a few years! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: being successful in your workouts « be filled up

  3. Pingback: Garden Spot Village Half Marathon « be filled up

  4. Pingback: 5-4-3-2-1 Workout with Cardio « be filled up

Leave a Reply

