RSS Feed

being successful in your workouts

Posted on

Usually the hardest battle with working out is just getting yourself to initially start the workout. Once you start, you seem to be in the clear. It’s the whole beginning process, at least that’s what hurts me! How do you get motivated and make the effort to begin your workout…?

Here are some ideas for successful workouts:

  • Set yourself up to succeed. What I mean by that is talk yourself into the workout you are going to do. When my workout buddy, Maisie and I did our 10.5 mile run this past Saturday, I had it in my mind that I was going to do a long run all week. Every day until the run I said to myself “11 miles, I can do it, I can do it!”  The run went pretty well!  A bit tired around 8 miles, but we pulled through!
  • Make a post it note reminding yourself of your exercise or activity. Example I wrote: Saturday – long run and posted it where I could see it every day. You could make a reminder note in your phone or jot it down on your calendar.  The note was a nice reminder to have my mind mentally prepared for doing the long run.
  • Write your workout out on a note card and take it with you. Why this helps? It keeps you dedicated to what you plan to do for the day’s workout. Many times you will do less than what you say you are going to do, but the card holds you to your intended workout!source
  • Workout with a partner. Motivate each other as you are working out, complimenting each other on his/her hard work. No one likes to hear more than someone saying positive things during a difficult time like working out!

 Any other ideas for being successful in your workouts? How do you make a workout a good one?

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

