RSS Feed

Wheatberry oatmeal

Posted on

What I have realized in my days of cooking is there are many ingredients out there you can use for breakfast, lunch or dinner! I always thought tofu was just a lunch/dinner item until I scrambled it with my eggs or threw it in the blender with my morning smoothies. Who thought tofu was just for dinner? Think again! Same thing goes for beans, when I used to think they were strictly for meals after 12PM. Heck you can eat beans in an egg burrito for breakfast! This recipe here has a twist on everyday oatmeal. We all love oats for our oatmeal, but I decided to jazz it up with wheatberries. I mixed cooked wheatberries with the oats to make wheatberry oatmeal. It was easy and made the oatmeal much more hearty. If you are into those kinda things, give it a try:

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup wheatberries, cooked
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • few Tbsp water
  • toppings of blueberries, strawberries, sunflower seed butter, flax seeds

Directions:

  1. In a small pot, simmer wheatberries on medium low heat for 45 minutes, drain (do night before).
  2. Add oats and cooked wheatberries together in pot with milk and water.
  3. On medium heat allow oats to cook and wheatberries to warm, stir well – takes 5 minutes.
  4. Top with blueberries, strawberries, nut butter and seeds.
  5. ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

4 responses »

  1. I love wheat berries!! Looks yummy Lesley 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love wheat berries on my salads too. Always on the look out for new breakie ideas!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

