RSS Feed

Spinach Pie

Posted on

I hope you have a love for spinach as I do and if not this recipe somewhat masks the spinach with the creamy cheese and sprinkled browned breadcrumbs. I made this for dinner last night and after eating it realized it would be perfect to have leftover for breakfast as well. I adapted the recipe I saw in the Eating Well Magazine as I was running on the treadmill. Again, I think it is hysterical when I ponder over food while sweating my boot-ay off at the gym. Am I the only one? This recipe came together in a snap, probably took longer to bake in fact, and was really.really.good.

Spinach Pie adapted from Eating Well

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 – 10 ounce package chopped spinach, thawed, water removed
  • 1 Tbsp mascarpone cheese (optional)
  • 1 cup cooked millet (or grain of choice)
  • 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup light cream
  • 2 slices wheat bread, made into crumbs – food processor
  • sprinkle of parmesan cheese

Directions:

1.  In large skillet, brown onion in olive oil.

2. Once browned (5 minutes), add spinach and garlic to onions. Heat 1 minute.

3. Put spinach mixture in bowl and mix in millet and cheeses.

4. In separate bowl, whisk together egg and cream. Add spinach mixture to eggs and stir well to combine.

5. Pour everything into 9 inch greased casserole or pie dish. Bake 25 minutes at 425F. Last 5 minutes of baking, top with bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. Let brown.

6. ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

4 responses »

  1. What a fabulous brunch idea! I love the creaminess of the inside and crunchy on the top… Yum Yum! Take care, BAM

    Reply
  2. this is a great idea! I love spinach 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

