RSS Feed

Garden Spot Village Half Marathon

Posted on

Well, I ran the half marathon this weekend in New Holland, Pennsylvania and it went GREAT! I was totally ready for the run and had trained pretty well with my friend Maisie – even though she didn’t run the race! I went into the run with a whole different mentality than I have had in the past with races. The Zooma Annapolis Half Marathon is what made me realize that running is supposed to be fun. I am not getting paid to do it, heck I am the one paying them and not only that but I am no where near finishing first even when running my arse off.  So why push myself to a point of not feeling well? Going into the half this time around, I told myself I want to feel well the whole time. When I start to feel tired, pull back a bit, when I start to recover, speed up a bit. That’s what I did and it was the best decision I made in a long time! I enjoyed the race and finished in 1 hour 56 minutes and 32 seconds. I was totally satisfied with that time and felt awesome crossing the finish line. The volunteer at the end of the race, as she put a medal around my neck said, “You finished STRONG!” And I did!

Here are more things I learned from running this half marathon – my 4th one:

  • Eat the SAME breakfast you consumed while doing your long runs. If it worked for you then it will work for you during your half.
  • Remember beating your personal record isn’t always the most important part of a race.
  • When you are feeling tired or out of breath slow down and regroup. When you feel like you have regained your composure, increase your pace. If you need to do that a number of times throughout the race, go ahead.
  • As you are running, listen to your body as far as thirst goes. If you are thirsty at mile 2 and there is water/Gatorade, grab one! You don’t have to wait until a certain mile to drink something. Just don’t chug.
  • Find someone who is running a similar pace to you and if you can, strike up a conversation. I met an older gentleman who qualified for Boston and was doing the half as a training run. He and I chatted for a few minutes and it totally took my mind off miles 11 and 12! Awesome way to run through those last few miles.
  • Finally, if you finish the race in one piece and feel good; be glad! Not everyone is able to run a half marathon and with that being said, feel blessed you were able to complete such an accomplishment.

So have you ever done a half marathon?

Have you ran a full marathon?

What are your tips for having a successful run?

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

2 responses »

  1. U R so cool!

    AS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

