RSS Feed

Potato & Cheese Cakes

Posted on

As I have cut back on meat from my life, I have added in many recipes of veggie-like burgers. I love eating them on top of spinach or mixed greens and I love experimenting with all different vegetables to perfect the most delicious meatless burger. This time, I used potatoes and cheese. One thing I realized is either the potatoes or the cheese really helped the “burgers” to stay together. I’m thinking it was the potatoes because I have used cheese in veggie burgers before and they don’t always stick together so well. I also dipped the burgers in an egg wash and then dipped in bread crumbs. This was the perfect way to create a crispy outside for the burger.

Adapted from here

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium-sized Yukon gold potatoes
  • 1 – 8 ounce package baby bella mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 2 eggs (1 egg, 1 egg white)
  • 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese (could use many kinds)
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs (used multi-grain bread)

Directions:

  1. Peel, and chop potatoes into quarters. Boil until soft – 12 to 15 minutes.
  2. Chop mushrooms and in saute pan, brown with onion over medium heat in olive oil.
  3. Place mushroom and onion in food processor, pulse 2-3 times (don’t over do).
  4. In bowl, mash softened potatoes with masher or fork.
  5. Add mushroom/onion mixture to potatoes. Mix well.
  6. Add basil, cheese, and 1 egg, mix well.
  7. Form 8 patties with mixture. Dip patties in 1 egg white whisked with 1 Tbsp water (egg wash).
  8. Dip in bread crumbs on both sides.
  9. Brown in greased pan, 3 to 5 minutes on either side – medium heat.
  10. Serve over lettuce or bun. ENJOY!!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a comment