RSS Feed

Eggplant Flats

Posted on

Do you enjoy eggplant parmesan? How about eggplant on the grill? Well, if not you I know I do! I find eggplant to be a vegetable you can use in a variety of ways. I have even used eggplant in a stuffed mushroom or you could use eggplant to make soup! Who knew?! Being that I haven’t had much meat in the past few months, creativity is important when it comes to dinner. If not, we would be eating the same vegetables alongside a salad. That’s not my cup of tea. I got creative two nights ago to create these eggplant flats…

Ingredients

  • 1 small eggplant, sliced lengthwise
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 to 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup pinto beans (white beans would work, too)
  • 1 Tbsp chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp fresh basil
  • handful of grape tomatoes or 1 plum tomato, chopped

Directions:

  1. Coat eggplant slices with olive oil using cooking brush.
  2. Bake eggplant slices for 5 to 7 minutes at 350F.
  3. In bowl, mix together garlic, ricotta, beans, tomatoes and basil.
  4. Remove eggplant from oven, cover slices with ricotta mixture.
  5. Sprinkle tomatoes on top.
  6. Bake another 10 to 12 minutes on 350F.
  7. ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

5 responses »

  1. Oh my! So beautiful and tasty looking…….My daughter is a whiz with eggplant so I will do the motherly thing and send her this link so she can make it for me! Thanks!

    Reply
  2. Low carb watchers should really book mark this recipe. A great one!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Eggplant & Spinach Pesto Rounds « be filled up

Leave a Reply

