RSS Feed

Portabella Mushroom Fries

Posted on

We eat portabella mushrooms like it’s our job. They are so easy to stuff and allow for variation of fixings to put in them. I decided I didn’t want to stuff the mushrooms, so I thought there had to be another way to make something with these caps. I also knew I had this tahini in the fridge that I need to continue to use because the container is the size of the great state of Texas, and I did just use the tahini for this tofu dish and was totally impressed. I kinda went with the same concept of the tofu and I decided to dip strips of portabella mushroom in a tahini mixture and then coated them with bread crumbs and “fried” them into mushroom fries. Yum, Yum.

Ingredients:

  • 2 portabella mushroom caps, stems and gills removed
  • few Tbsp olive oil for pan
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 4 to 5 Tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Cut mushrooms into strips, lengthwise.
  2. Whisk together tahini and water, one Tbsp at a time.
  3. Mix together bread crumbs and cheese.
  4. Coat strips with tahini mixture, then into bread crumb mixture.
  5. Heat olive oil in grill pan or saute pan on medium.
  6. Place strips in pan and brown on either side 3 minutes, only flipping once.
  7. ENJOY as side dish, over salad or alone!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

