RSS Feed

Jamaica 2012

Posted on

Ok…last time I am writing this post. I wrote it twice and for some reason when inserting a picture, all of my writing disappears! Very, very frustrating. Anyway…let’s talk Jamaica.

Joe and I returned back to the states last night and we hit it big by scoring seats on an earlier flight. We were stoked about this and were back in good ol’ Reading, PA by 6:45PM. Our flight home was supposed to leave Jamaica at 2PM and arrive to Philadelphia around 6:30PM. We decided to go to the airport early and try to catch the early, 11:45AM flight. When we got to the airport, US Airways attendant said the earlier flight was sold out and quite frankly it was overbooked. Joe and I both were totally bummed and that meant we would be at the airport all day long. We paced up and down the walkway of the airport thinking of how we could get on that damn flight. We went back to the ticket counter and decided we wanted to talk to someone else. We got this awesome guy who very calmly said he would see what he could do for us. He was clicking away on the computer for a while and that gave me enough time to give him my puppy dog look, which lasted for a full 5 minutes. He looks up at us as we were just about drooling on the counter waiting for an answer and asks, “Able to assist in an emergency exit row?” Joe and I immediately answer “YES!” and knew we were in! We couldn’t have been happier and I think we both did toe touches showing our excitement. Since that’s the end of our Jamaica story, let me tell you about the beginning…

Joe and I headed down to the Philadelphia airport around 6:15AM on Tuesday morning, the day before 4th of July. We had a 9:45AM flight and it takes about an hour to get to the airport with no traffic. We had no idea what to expect with it being close to the 4th of July, but luckily it was smooth sailing all the way down there. He and I are both on the same page about getting to the airport in plenty of time. I would much rather sit at the airport, drink an iced coffee and leisurely read my book, than run to the gate while sweating my ass off and worrying about making/missing the flight. That’s just not my cup of tea.

The flight to Jamaica was a mere 3 hours and a few minutes, and it flew by because I did what I do best on flights…NAP! As we arrived in Montego Bay, it was raining. It wasn’t one of those Florida rains where it is over and done within 15 minutes, this was more of a downpour. We had to get onto a crazy Jamaican Me Crazy bus pumping with reggae ton music and drive up a steep incline for the next 2 hours. We even dropped off a native in a little po’ dunk town of Lucea. Man, was this an eye opener when thinking of poverty. We finally arrived to the Riu Negril and it was a good thing or the stubs of my nails would have been completely gnawed off by my nerves and anxiety.

Luckily, the next 5 days in Jamaica were very relaxing – nothing like the bus ride – and were quite similar to one another. We had a great routine that we didn’t venture away from. Our days looked like this: waking up early and going to the gym – yes we are those people who go to the gym on their vacation, showering and eating breakfast, heading to the pool/beach and alternating between the two all day with a drink in hand, showering up for dinner around 5 or so, doing happy hour until 7 or so, eating dinner and then watching the nightly entertainment with more drinks in hand.  One day, Joe and I even decided to play tennis. We are both pretty terrible, so it was quite the “match.”

Let’s talk about the positives and negatives of our Jamaica Trip…

Positives – 

  • Beautiful water – crystal, clear turquoise blue
  • Great pool bar – nice size, 2 pools, one for drinking one for kiddies
  • Fun entertainment – nightly shows
  • Accommodating staff – quick service, really on top of their game

Negatives –

  • Food – buffet was same thing everyday
  • Reservations – only book 1 at a time for restaurants, reservation employees weren’t helpful
  • Raining – rained almost everyday and sometimes would go for more than an hour
  • Vendors – constantly trying to sell you something

Overall, our experience at Jamaica was nice. We had a very relaxing time, we enjoyed each other’s company, and we enjoyed the sun, sand and water. If I had to give the Riu Negril Hotel and Jamaica a rating, I would give it a 7 out of 10. Would I go back to Jamaica? No, and to be honest, I wouldn’t go back to any island unless it was paid for by someone else or we were going for an event like a wedding. I would much rather experience all the other tropical islands out there. So far out of the four island get-aways I have been to: Acapulco, Punta Cana, Aruba and Jamaica, I would say Aruba was my favorite. How about you?

Have you ever been to Jamaica? Where is your favorite island destination?

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

7 responses »

  1. Love the pictures! And I love your over photo 🙂

    Reply
  2. Love the pics, Les! Glad you had a nice relaxing getaway–presh pic of you two. Hugs to Joe and Athena. xo

    Reply
  3. Did you manage to run along the beach in the mornings? Great exercise, first thing in the morning before it gets hot and then lay like vegetables by the beach the rest of the day. Welcome back

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Weekend Recap « be filled up

Leave a Reply

