RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 13, 2012

Tzatziki Sauce

Posted on

I have been a fan of hummus for a long, long time it seems now. Each day at work around 10AM, I get out my carrot sticks and hummus and start chomping away. I swear, my coworkers must think I come from the rabbit family. One time, after I left a voicemail for a consumer and thought I hung up, only to find I was still on the line chomping away on my 17 carrot sticks. I’m sure the person who received that voicemail was a bit confused. Whoops! Well to make the tzatziki sauce you only need a few fresh ingredients…

Serving size: small 6 ounce bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 6 oz – plain low fat Greek yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 small cucumber, skin shaved, diced into small pieces
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • salt, pepper

Directions:

  1. In bowl, mix together all ingredients except sugar, salt,  pepper.
  2. Season according to taste with sugar, salt, pepper.
  3. ENJOY with vegetables, chips, pita bread, gyros, salad and much, much more!

When I made this recipe, it was a small serving size because of using an individual sized Chobani plain yogurt. If you were interested in making a larger batch, I would double the ingredients. That way you could take it to a party or use for a number of people for dinner. Again, this was the perfect size for me because I have been eating it as a snack and also used it on top of a bed of spinach with grilled shrimp for lunch.