RSS Feed

Tzatziki Sauce

Posted on

I have been a fan of hummus for a long, long time it seems now. Each day at work around 10AM, I get out my carrot sticks and hummus and start chomping away. I swear, my coworkers must think I come from the rabbit family. One time, after I left a voicemail for a consumer and thought I hung up, only to find I was still on the line chomping away on my 17 carrot sticks. I’m sure the person who received that voicemail was a bit confused. Whoops! Well to make the tzatziki sauce you only need a few fresh ingredients…

Serving size: small 6 ounce bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 6 oz – plain low fat Greek yogurt
  • 2 Tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 small cucumber, skin shaved, diced into small pieces
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • salt, pepper

Directions:

  1. In bowl, mix together all ingredients except sugar, salt,  pepper.
  2. Season according to taste with sugar, salt, pepper.
  3. ENJOY with vegetables, chips, pita bread, gyros, salad and much, much more!

When I made this recipe, it was a small serving size because of using an individual sized Chobani plain yogurt. If you were interested in making a larger batch, I would double the ingredients. That way you could take it to a party or use for a number of people for dinner. Again, this was the perfect size for me because I have been eating it as a snack and also used it on top of a bed of spinach with grilled shrimp for lunch.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

10 responses »

  1. I often wonder if my co-workers get annoyed with my carrot and celery crunching!

    Great mind must think alike – I made a tzatziki-like sauce yesterday too, though slightly less traditional. Yours looks amazingly creamy!

    Reply
  2. Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could e-mail me?

    Jillian

    Reply
  3. This creamy sauce could be used for so many things.

    Reply
  4. Yum! I have had a very similar dish to your sauce–it was all basically the same with the addition of chopped black olives. It was so delicious spread on a slice of bread or used in a sandwhich 🙂

    Reply
  5. What a good idea to use this as a salad topping as well as a dip! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: white bean & red pepper dip « be filled up

Leave a Reply

