RSS Feed

white bean & red pepper dip

Posted on

Since we enjoy a lot of hummus, I figured I would venture off and try making a sauce/dip that is similar to hummus. In the back of my mind I knew I wanted to use white beans instead of chic peas to make this sauce. I am into sauces lately and really enjoy homemade ones. I like homemade sauces and dips for many reasons:

  1. You know what is going in the sauce and don’t need preservatives – it’s not on the shelf for who knows how long
  2. You can tweak the flavor by adding a few simple spices
  3. You can make and freeze if you have a lot extra
  4. You can make as is and for a second time around add another ingredient.

In the food processor of this sauce went: white beans, tahini, roasted red peppers, lemon juice, garlic powder and salt and pepper. Pretty simple, eh? As I drizzled the sauce onto an omelette, I thought to myself, this sauce could be used for a variety of things! I could use this to dip fresh veggies in, spread over fish or even rice and beans. Read on for the directions:

White Bean & Roasted Pepper Sauce

Serving size: about 1 cup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Northern white beans
  • 2 Tbsp tahini
  • 1/4 of a lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 of jar of roasted red peppers, drained (16 ounces)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • salt, pepper and paprika to taste

Directions:

  1. In food processor, mix together beans, tahini, lemon juice and roasted red peppers.
  2. Add garlic and salt/pepper & paprika to taste.
  3. ENJOY as is or heat in sauce pan on medium heat and drizzle warm over omelette!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

One response »

Leave a Reply

