RSS Feed

Garam Masala Chic Peas

Posted on

I knew roasting chic peas was the thing to do right now because I have seen them on the net and of course at my second home, pinterest. I hope others are addicted to this website as much as I am. I swear, you could have your whole day planned out at the drop of a dime just by looking at pictures. You could make a craft for your home, make a new recipe, find a new gorgeous outfit, do a new workout and finally have an inspirational thought to ease into your evening. Who doesn’t love that darn site, where you are sucked in for hours on ending?! Ten times better than picture stalking on Facebook.

Well, I did mess up things a bit with these chic peas because I got my two recipes…confused. I found a recipe for Garam Masala Chic Peas that weren’t meant to be roasted and then another where they were meant to be roasted. I made the recipe that wasn’t supposed to be roasted and roasted them anyway…woops. They came out absolutely fine, but I think I would cut out the onion the next time around when making these because there really isn’t a need for them. Read on for the recipe…

Garam Masala Chic Peas

Ingredients:

  • 1 can chic peas, rinsed/drained
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup onions (use if you don’t roast the chic peas)
  • 2 tsp garam masala seasoning
  • sprinkle sea salt

Directions:

  1. In saute pan, heat olive oil on medium heat.
  2. Place onions in pan and soften, 5 minutes (skip onions if you are roasting)
  3. Add chic peas to sauté pan.
  4. Mix garam masala seasoning to pan, stirring well. Cook 5 to 7 minutes.
  5. Transfer mixture onto greased cookie sheet and bake at 400F for 15 to 20 minutes (do this step and the rest if you aren’t including onions and want roasted chic peas)
  6. Chic peas will begin to roast and split apart.
  7. Allow to cool, sprinkle with sea salt.
  8. ENJOY by the handful with some nuts or over a salad as topping!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

3 responses »

  1. Garam masala is my newfound favorite spice! This recipe is killer (if you are still on the vegetarian train you could sub out chicken for tofu and I think it’d be spectacular). I’ve made it probably 5x and it’s phenomenal–super unique and makes enough for lunches all week!
    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/06/chicken-tikka-masala-by-pastor-ryan/

    Reply
  2. I loooove garam masala! I tend to sprinkle it in everything, not just Indian dishes! These sound great and would be perfect to top a salad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

