RSS Feed

Vegan Italian Wedding Soup

Posted on

When we go to Joe’s parents’ restaurant, I am always craving Italian Wedding Soup. Because I haven’t incorporated much meat into my diet, besides fish, I usually stay away from the Italian Wedding Soup. As a side note, I have been eating a little meat because I have actually had cravings for it. I think if your body is craving something, you should fill the crave. I definitely think that means your body is telling you something, so listen up! Anyway, I wanted to make a soup that would be similar to the one at the restaurant, but one that didn’t include meat. First thing that came to mind was tempeh. I crumbled the tempeh making it represent the meatballs in the regular Italian Wedding Soup. I also added carrots and celery, which I know aren’t typical of Italian Wedding Soup. Still, it tasted good and totally hit the spot when you have a craving for Italian Wedding Soup sans the meat.

Vegan Italian Wedding Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 3/4 cup pasta (pastina or I used pinwheels)
  • 8 ounces fresh spinach
  • 1/2 package tempeh, crumbled
  • sprinkle of parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. In large Dutch oven, heat 1 Tbsp olive oil on medium heat 2 minutes.
  2. Add garlic, onion, carrots, celery, basil and oregano.
  3. Stir and heat 5 minutes.
  4. Add vegetable broth and water and pasta.
  5. Simmer on medium heat until pasta is soft, 7 to 10 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, in saute brown crumbled tempeh in 1 Tbsp olive oil.
  7. Add spinach and tempeh to pot, stirring well to wilt spinach.
  8. Serve with sprinkle of parmesan cheese (optional if not vegan).
  9. ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

2 responses »

  1. This looks like my perfect soup 🙂 Thanks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

