RSS Feed

5-4-3-2-1 Workout with Cardio

Posted on

I have a bad ass hard workout for you! I am excited to share it with you and excited for you to try it and tell me just how hard you thought it was. First off, finding workouts on pinterest is one of my new favorite pastimes. There are so many of these high intensity type workouts that you can find and either save onto your phone (if you have the iPhone), print it out, or even write it down on a note card. I have said this before but having a workout laid out in front of you really helps to motivate you to stay on track.

Sometimes when I go to the gym and I say I’m going to do cardio and arms, with nothing written down, I don’t necessarily work as hard as say, when I did this workout. I don’t know what it is but it’s almost like writing down the workout is like a commitment letter. It commits you to the workout. If you don’t already, next time you workout, write down your workout plan and see if it works for you! Now, this was the 5-4-3-2-1….

In between each 5-4-3-2-1 exercises, Maisie and I did a lap of running with a nice hill incorporated into it. This workout kicked our ass butt. At one point I had my phone right below me watching the time as were we were doing the mountain climbers and my sweat was dripping all over the front of my iPhone. Ewww, yes I know. I would say we are intermediate worker-outters, but darn this workout gave us a total run for our money and we only completed the circuit one time! Total with the lap in between the exercises the workout lasted 40 to 45 minutes. We were spent!

*Great things about the 5-4-3-2-1 Workout*

  1. Awesome enough, you don’t need any equipment to complete this workout. You could do this in your backyard, basement, living room, etc. Maisie and I went over to the university to do the workout, but there were people using the track, so we used the parking lot. We ran around the cars creating our own track. Sometimes you just have to be creative when it comes to working out. Those are usually the best workouts, ones that are creative.
  2. This workout you can adapt to a workout just for you by omitting or adding whatever way you like to it. If you aren’t into lunges or squats, take those out and do more abdominal exercises. If the time is too long or short, change that up. Really it is your workout and what works for you is going to give you the most bang for your buck!
  3. Next time around, try the workout circuit 2 times instead of 1. Next time, try the workout and switch up the exercises doing them at different times, example, do the 2 minute exercises for 4 minutes and vice versa.
  4. Use this workout as a template to create your own circuit workout. Let this be the guide for your times, exercises, etc. See what you can come up with!

Have you ever been creative with your workouts? 

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

