RSS Feed

Chicken & White Bean Chili

Posted on

After a long weekend, it was nice to enjoy a piping hot bowl of soup. This weekend was filled with a little bit of everything. It included cleaning out our dust filled basement, meeting with 2 realtors about our house and a future house, birthday partying it up in Harrisburg, house hunting, painting, cleaning, and finally sitting down to eat some comfort food. I’m sure many of you feel the way I do about soup; it just does something to your insides! It warms you up, relaxes you, and almost makes you feel like everything will be ok. I have to admit, I’m stressed out about all our new endeavors. My mind is going a mile a minute and I can’t sit down to make it stop! I am thinking of every possible scenario and keep on asking myself, “How is this all going to fit into place?” Yes, it will all fit into place, because it just will and things happen for a reason, but right now, I’m not thinking logically. It sounds logical, it really does, but why can’t my mind comprehend such things? My mind can comprehend this soup though…

Whew, now that I just got out all of my emotions to you readers, we can talk about soup. Yes, it did comfort my soul last night and it did make me think that everything would be ok. The soup was awesome. It was really, really awesome and I think it had something to do with the fennel seeds. I don’t think I have ever used fennel seeds in a recipe and when they were on sale at the grocery store a few weeks back, I knew exactly what I was going to use them for: this chicken and white bean chili!

Have you ever used fennel seeds in a recipe?

What’s your favorite comfort food?

Please tell me so I can make it for the next few months until things settle down!

Chicken & White Bean Chili

Adapted from Food Network

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 3 Tbsp flour
  • 1 can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 1/2 cups – packed – collard greens
  • 1/2 cup corn
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken stock
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • pinch cayenne pepper

Directions:

  1. In Dutch oven, heat olive oil on medium heat for 1 minute.
  2. Add onions and cook until tender – about 5 minutes.
  3. Add minced garlic and stir well – 30 seconds.
  4. Add ground chicken, cumin, fennel seeds, oregano and chili powder cooking chicken until no longer pink.
  5. Add flour to chicken mixture and stir well.
  6. Add beans, collard greens, corn and vegetable stock.
  7. Place lid on top and simmer for 45 minutes to thicken.
  8. Add paprika and cayenne pepper and let cook another 10 minutes.
  9. Serve with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

