RSS Feed

Italian Wedding Pesto Soup

Posted on

I made two soups this weekend back to back, the homemade chicken quinoa soup and then this one. I will be honest with you all, I didn’t use homemade chicken stock for this soup. I used it all up on the first soup – poor planning on my part, I guess. Oh well, this one still turned out fantastic and would probably be even better if you used homemade stock. Let me know if you try it!

The reason being with two back to back soups and why I seemed to be a cooking fanatic this weekend was I was worried we might be out of electricity for a while. I don’t know if I thought about it all the way through though, because we would be eating cold soup. Cold soup is better than no soup so I guess my mind was trying to be smart? I swear our power goes out so easily and this time around we were in the clear. No power outage for us! Last year was a different story…right around Halloween when we had that big snow storm, we lost power for 4 days and we weren’t prepared at all. We were carrying little dinky dollar store candles that hardly led the way from one room to another. I think we would have been better with the light from our phones, to be honest. This year, we got serious and got prepared. We had candles – big ones and little ones, flashlights, ice for the cooler, food prepped and alcohol. Since we were so prepared, of course, our electricity didn’t go out. Many people around us lost power, but nope, not us. Not this time around when were were totally prepared. Sandy, (the Hurricane) you are a trickster.

Needless to say, we still got to enjoy both soups I made and we were able to enjoy them hot! This italian wedding pesto soup, even though made with store-bought stock, has a great flavor because of the pesto!

Italian Wedding Pesto Soup

Inspired by Skinnytaste

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 8 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tsp pesto
  • 3/4 cup frozen chopped collard greens
  • dash of garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup cooked pasta shells
  • fresh finely chopped basil as topping (optional)

Directions:

  1. In large mixing bowl, mix together turkey through minced garlic clove well – this is for your meatballs.
  2. Form small turkey meatballs in your hand and place on plate.
  3. In Dutch oven, bring chicken broth to a low boil.
  4. Gently drop meatballs in broth and cook for about 10 minutes.
  5. Add pesto, collard greens and spices and reduce heat to medium/medium low and cook 3 more minutes.
  6. Add cooked pasta shells and reduce heat again to simmer and cook final 3 to 5 minutes.
  7. ENJOY with sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

