RSS Feed

Sesame Seed Crackers

Posted on

This weekend I was in the mood for a simple snack that I could whip up with very little thought. It was just kinda one of those Saturdays where I wanted to stay foggy eyed all morning. I remembered a while back I made homemade crackers and they turned out just like the ones from the Wheat Thins box at the store and were super simple to make. I mimicked the recipe but instead spiced them up with some black sesame seeds and cut out the butter. The tan or regular sesame seeds (guess they are considered regular) would work just fine for this recipe, too. I just happened to spot the black ones at the farmer’s market for $1.81 and got pretty giddy.  When I go through the farmer’s market and see all the goodies and realize that much of the produce is way cheaper than the grocery store, I feel like I hit the jackpot. Really, I do… I hit the jackpot with these crackers, too!

What’s your favorite snack to make?

Ever make crackers? If so, what do you like to put in them?

Sesame Seed Crackers

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour (could you all wheat flour)
  • 1/4 cup black sesame seeds
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 6 Tbsp water (might need 1 to 2 Tbsp more)
  • sea salt as topping

Directions:

  1. In food processor, mix together flours, sesame seeds, olive oil and paprika.
  2. Add water 1 Tbsp at a time until a ball of dough forms (will use about 6 to 7 Tbsp).
  3. Remove dough from processor and on greased parchment paper place ball.
  4. Place a second piece of greased parchment paper on top of ball and begin to roll out until paper thin.
  5. With pizza cutter, cut small squares into the dough (think of wheat thins).
  6. Place on greased foil covered cookie sheet.
  7. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until crispy then sprinkle with sea salt.
  8. ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

3 responses »

  1. Your homemade crackers ook very hearty and crunchy. My favorite snack is Japanese rice crackers.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Cauliflower Mashed Shepard’s Pie « be filled up

  3. Pingback: Sweet & Salty Egg Bake « be filled up

Leave a Reply

