RSS Feed

Sweet & Salty Egg Bake

Posted on

I was running on the treadmill last week and was watching the Food Network. The one host, excuse me that I can’t remember her name, was making a multitude of breakfast foods. They all looked delicious. One of the items on her menu was an egg bake. She was using these small ovenware dishes to make her egg bake. A little light bulb went off in my head because about a month or two ago, I picked up two ovenware dishes at Goodwill for a dollar a piece. I immediately knew I would be making a recipe similar to hers on the show…

So, as I was at the farmer’s market this weekend (yes, this is the third time you have heard me say that – sesame crackers, mashed cauliflower shepard’s pie) I picked up all-natural apple sausage. I had to stand in line twice because I forgot the sausage the first time around and the line was quite insane but I was determined to make these, so waiting in line was a must. The people at the farmer’s market get vicious over their place in line. This lady jumped in front of me and when the man behind the counter said, “Whose next?” she yells as loud as she can, “I AM!!!” I just stepped back and let the woman go ahead, obviously meat was on her mind and nothing was going to stop her. All things worked out and I walked out of there was a fresh pound of apple sausage….

Sweet & Salty Egg Bake

Serving size: 2 main dishes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound all-natural apple sausage (can use regular)
  • 4 cups packed spinach
  • 1 gala apple, diced in cubes
  • 4 eggs (2 eggs, 2 egg whites)
  • sprinkle of fresh basil

Directions:

  1. In skillet on medium high heat, brown all-natural sausage outside of casing. Break up with spatula and cook until no longer pink.
  2. In 2 small, personal size ovenware dishes, place sausage in bottom.
  3. In same skillet, cook spinach on medium heat until wilted then add on top of sausage.
  4. Repeat for diced apple cubes cooking until soft – about 5 minutes – on medium heat and adding to spinach.
  5. Crack 1 egg and 1 egg white into each dish.
  6. Place in oven on 350F and cook for 12 to 15 minutes or until egg is baked “over hard.” If you like your eggs runny, bake 8 to 10 minutes.
  7. Sprinkle with fresh basil.
  8. ENJOY with some toast!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

4 responses »

  1. Yummy! This looks like an easy way to be creative in the mornings with ingredients you already have on hand. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. MMMMMMM I ‘m going to have to try that!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

