RSS Feed

Mint Chocolate Chip Sandwiches

Posted on

Here’s another sweet, but not too sweet dessert for you! I have been eyeing some chocolate wafers at the grocery store for a while now. Only thing, they are a bit expensive – about $5.00 for a little box. I always see them, stand there, and then walk away. I usually tell myself, “Next time, Lesley, next time.” Well last week at the grocery store, a similar chocolate wafer, to be exact a delicate Swedish cookie, was on sale for $2.99 and these cookies were mint chocolate wafers!!! I love mint chocolate. Love, love, love it.I also love the peppermint mocha iced coffee at Dunkin Donuts this time of year. Anyone else?! 

Well, this box of mint chocolate wafers was tossed faster into my cart than I could say, “Go!” Now, once I got them home, I quickly tore open the little box of joy and ate a few wafers as I pondered over what I was going to do with them. Of course I couldn’t just eat them as is. I had to do something else with them. That’s when I thought of making some peppermint whip cream and freezing them into little mint chocolate chip ice cream sandwiches. Perfect, right?! What makes them even more perfect are the green and red sprinkles along with some chocolate ones!

_MG_9205

Chocolate sprinkles or jimmies (to some) bring me back to my childhood…Ah, to feel young again!

Any foods that make you think of when you were younger?

Mint Chocolate Chip Sandwiches

_MG_9224

Makes 1 dozen cookies

_MG_9250

Ingredients:

  • 24 chocolate wafers
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 tsp peppermint extract
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • sprinkles for topping

Directions:

  1. In mixing bowl, whip heavy whipping cream and peppermint with electric mixer until peaks form (resembles light and airy whip cream).
  2. Take 2 wafers and place one upside down (pretty side down), putting a dollop of cream in middle. Place another wafer on top to make sandwich (pretty side up).
  3. In small saucepan or microwave, carefully melt chocolate chips over low heat, stirring often and until smooth and creamy.
  4. Place a small dab of melted chocolate on top of cookie sandwich.
  5. Shake some sprinkles on top of chocolate and around sides of cookie.
  6. Place in freezer for 1 hour or until whip cream hardens like ice cream.
  7. ENJOY!

_MG_9230

_MG_9330

_MG_9242

_MG_9278

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

Leave a Reply

