RSS Feed

Tahini Crisp Tofu

Posted on

I don’t make tofu often, probably once a month. I guess I read a few things about it and it scared me a bit. Needless to say, many things in life can harm you if you have them in excess. I need to remember moderation when I am inhaling sweets! When I do make tofu, I always want it to be nice and crispy. There is something about plain tofu that doesn’t thrill me. Think it’s the texture that gets me. How do you like your tofu? I also got a tub of tahini this past week that I used for a salad dressing and I figured I needed to use it for more than just that. The tub was 5.99 and is pretty big! I thought for a moment and had a brilliant idea…use the tahini like I would for an egg wash and dip the tofu in it! It worked out perfectly…

Ingredients:

  • 1 package extra firm tofu, water pressed out
  • 1/8 cup tahini
  • 2 to 3 Tbsp water
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • dash of garlic powder, salt, pepper

Directions:

  1. If you don’t have a tofu press, place tofu on plate, place paper towel over it and place 2 plates on top. Let sit 15 minutes to remove water.
  2. Slice tofu length wise into thin blocks.
  3. Whisk together tahini and water, adding 1 Tbsp at a time until smooth mixture is created.
  4. On plate, mix nutritional yeast, garlic powder, salt and pepper together.
  5. Dip tofu in tahini and coat on both sides.
  6. Coat tofu in nutritional yeast mixture on both sides.
  7. In pan, heat enough olive oil to cover bottom of pan on medium.
  8. Place tofu slices in pan and let cook untouched 3 to 5 minutes on each side. Only flip ONCE!!
  9. Put tofu over a bed of lettuce and ENJOY!

About Lesley

I am a 29 year old Pennsylvanian who enjoys running, good eats, family and friends!

5 responses »

  1. I love scrambled tofu and cooked in many ways. What is the purpose behind the nutritional yeast dip is it for health or does it help with the cooking process?

    Reply
  2. If you make tofu often, a tofu press really comes in handy and speeds the prep time. I use the EZ Tofu Press. It takes 5-15 minutes to take most water out of firm ad extra firm tofu. Tahini tofu looks great!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Portabella Mushroom Fries « be filled up

Leave a comment